Selecting and responding to my exhibition space for summative assessment

As my work is usually at least somewhat site responsive if not completely site specific and is sensorial or multi-senatorial in nature, I did feel some pressure to secure a exhibition space that was viable and suited this way of working. As my project had developed, I had made the decision that I would attempt to create an immersive experience in some way which also played a part within my decision making process when selecting a space.

After enjoying the degree show work I found myself eyeing up the possibilities and decided that the converted enclosed cupboard space would fulfill most of my requirements. I then emailed and spoke to David and James to see if this was possible.

Apart from the aforementioned requirements such as a space that allowed for some seclusion as to not disturb other surrounding pieces and that would allow me to be site responsive in some way. One of the main ideas that had sparked with aspect of the project was this juxtaposition created by natural forms such as plants growing amongst and overtaking artificial man made constructions such as buildings as mentioned in an earlier post, especially when the vibrancy of street art is also present. The cupboard space happened to have an entire wall that was simply exposed grey concrete instead of the usual pristine white walls or an exhibition space which I felt would perfectly complement and more accurately portray the pieces I have constructed that play on this idea of contrast between natural and artificial.

UPDATE

Unfortunately due to potential restrictions with regards drilling into the concrete walls I decided to swap exhibition spaces due to not having enough wall space to fulfil my requirements.

I ended up swapping with Scott as his piece was actually more suited to an enclosed space anyway and in hindsight I am pretty happy with the final outcome and repositioning as the new space allows the painting space to breath and the natural light emphasises the vibrancy of the colours.

One aspect that I had to drop in the trade off was the audio aspect. unfortunately due to space limitations and as to not disturb other students works I chose to leave this out. It may be something I attempt to incorporate into the exhibition night though if possible.

Leave a comment