Self directed final project artist research – Jessica Stockholder

As part of the research and idea development for my final project, I reviewed the works of Jessica Stockholder as I felt an instant connection to them when I first encountered them. She uses found, everyday or items that are not traditionally seen as artistic mediums to create sculptural forms and paintings. In a very similar vein, I will often employ the use of organic and artificial found object within my own works, regularly letting the found materials dictate the project almost entirely, hence the affiliation to her works.

I particularly am drawn the way Jessica will strip an object down to its fundamental form and simply chose to collate and amalgamate objects based on their form and the overall composition that is created by the combined objects. This way of working and looking at objects directly informed the work I then produced in response to this project and although I had a pre-existing pool of influences and ideas from other research and the previous project, the materials I have and will be using to fulfil the project have been almost entirely found and repurposed. This has then enabled me to relinquish an aspect of the decision making process initially but had then enabled me to explore and represent materials and forms in different and sometime completely paradoxical ways.

Leave a comment