Third year install – Luke Mills

For the 3rd year degree show I was allocated Luke Mills and tasked with being a helping hand to prepare and construct his exhibition piece.

I had encountered Luke’s work previously and had some knowledge of the premise of his piece due to having curated an exhibition earlier in the year in which I selected some of his work, so I was happy to help and give some advise as to the layout of the space and how one may navigate his work.

Initially, we prepped and painted the space and I was especially tasked with marking up and accurately painting a section of wall on to which Luke intended to project. from then my role was mostly to construct both framing for pertruding plug sockets that were an eye saw within the space, plinths for his tvs and to measure and hang his headphones and shelves for speakers.

Overall, I was more than happy to help with the construction of his installation and found it very rewarding having a hand in materialising Luke’s vision for his work. I not only derived a more thorough understand of what will be expected of me going forward in my studies when preparing for assessments and exhibitions but was also able to make connections with both Luke and other third year students that will positively effect my future artistic and social endeavours.

Leave a comment